hello weekend: “Should I workout today?”

wpid-20140110_110311.jpgTaken right before my mat pilates class, in which I totally get my but kicked ^^

 I always look forward to catching up on sleep during the weekends, but I also always book-up my weekends with things to do!  I guess I’ll sleep when I’m dead.

How many of us ask ourselves the question, ” Should I workout today??” Most of the time, I answer with something like “sure…but later” and a lot of times I don’t end up going…oops. For January I really wanted to get a workout 3-4 times a week because it makes my whole body/mind/spirit feel better. So how did I conquer that question with a resounding “YES!”? Well, I didn’t ask it in the first place. Here’s what has helped me, and maybe it can help some of you:

  • Tell yourself the answer before asking the question. In fact, don’t ask yourself that question at all. Set a realistic short term goal like, workout 2 times a week (you can always add on from there). Stick to that goal like gum on a side walk. Then tell yourself, “I”m going to workout today because tomorrow I’m busy with _____.” Do that X amount of times during the week and you’ll not only meet your goal, but you’ll feel soooo good inside and out.
  • Switch up your workout. My pre-gym days were filled with running, lots of running, and the occasional rock climbing. I hated my workouts because I got sick of just running all the time! Now that I have a gym membership, I go to about 2 or 3 classes a week, and run at least once a week. Now I never get bored with my workouts.
  • Do it with someone. Austin and I love to do outdoorsy stuff together, and made a goal to workout 1-2 times a week together (yes I also count that as one of my workouts!). By “workout” we don’t always mean “go to the gym”. We switch it up with activities like playing tennis, going mountain biking, climbing…just about anything that gets us using our muscles.

My next problem: how will I get in a workout with babies and kids!? I have no idea. I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

What do you guys do to get yourself moving?

hugs, hanalei

4 thoughts on “hello weekend: “Should I workout today?”

  1. Come Yoga with me! Check out their website at http://yellowyogastudio.com/ and let me know if you can fit any of those classes into your schedule! What gym did you get a membership to? I’ve got one at LA Fitness and would LOVE a workout buddy! Or there is a pretty easy but pretty trail by my house. It’s about 5 miles round trip.

    But I do agree – you need to change the way you approach a work out. Not “should I go..” but “when can I fit it in today?” I’m pretty lucky and get to work from home most of the time so that makes it much easier for me to hit up those 5:30pm classes and still have dinner prepped and ready to go by the time I get back. I’ve been on a good kick of doing some sort of physical activity 4-5x a week. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’m able to keep it up!

    Love the post! (like I always do) 🙂

      • Oh nice! We have to take a class together at LA Fitness! What one do you go to? They just opened up a new one off the 10fwy next to Ikea. I haven’t been yet, but I’ve been wanting to check it out.

      • Ceithet Chino or Diamond Bar, they’re the closest. We went to the one by IKEA and it’s Austin’s favorite one! It’s super nice but we don’t love driving all the way up there…

Be brave. Expose your readership.

