DIY: Painted Jars … they make great holiday center pieces!

foggydress_jars This tutorial comes via request from one my readers, Kate. I decided to paint a few old pickle jars, and she wanted a tutorial so…here you go! Do-It-Yourself spray painted old bottle & jars.

foggydress_jars
foggydress_jarsfoggydress_jars Supplies:

  • Spray paint: You can choose any color (obviously) but  I chose gold…mostly because that’s the only color I have!
  • Painter’s tape, any size
  • A glass bottle/jar

foggydress_jars1. Clean off any stickers or jars. I did this by soaking this old olive jar in water. MAKE SURE to place sticker face down in water. Soak for 20-30 mins or longer, depending on sticker size. Rub off excess stickiness under running water, and use Goo-gone if necessary.
foggydress_jars
foggydress_jars

2. Decorate your Jar! I used painter’s tape, and cut up little un-even strips. Get creative… I loved lines and uneven spacing when decorating these jars. foggydress_jars 3. Spray paint away!foggydress_jars 4. Carefully peel off tape

foggydress_jars I also decided to jazz up a few of my old coke bottles…they make great center pieces for the holiday! Just follow steps 1-5 above.foggydress_jarsfoggydress_jarsfoggydress_jarsfoggydress_jarsfoggydress_jars Hope you enjoy these, and decide to NEVER throw away another glass jar again!

hugs, hanalei

2 thoughts on “DIY: Painted Jars … they make great holiday center pieces!

  1. Hanalei,
    Thank you so much! These are simply gorgeous. My fav is the uneven strips, I will definitely be trying that one for the holidays! Btw beautiful photos =)

Be brave. Expose your readership.

