projects lately…

foggydress_homefoggydress_homefoggydress_homefoggydress_homefoggydress_home It’s best if I keep myself busy (distracted more like), so I decided to jump back into blogging. I hadn’t realized it’s been 3 weeks since I last blogged. Here goes….

From top to bottom:

  • Plants. My sister-in-law works at a nursery in Utah, so I thought I would take advantage of her discount… I got a Maiden Hair Fern which I LOVE. I’ve had this plant before, when I was in college, but the Utah cold just about killed it. It didn’t thrive there, but I’m hoping this warmer, more humid climate will be perfect for it. Don’t you love hanging plants? I’m also obsessed with the crazy Juncus Dart plant (second photo), which reminds of Princess Merida’s crazy hair in Brave.
  • Watercolor. I have been obsessing over learning how to water color this past month. I don’t know why but I’m literally in love with it, even though I’m really not that good. I’ve been wanting to paint something for the saying “grow old with me” to compliment the big picture of us in front of the temple on our wedding day, so I attempted to paint some simple water color flowers for it. I think it turned out ok.
  • Painting Pickle Jars. I just hate throwing away glass jars. If you look carefully around my house, I make all sorts of uses out of little leftover jars from the grocery store. Lately, I’ve been saving our pickle jars (I didn’t realize we eat so many pickles until I noticed how many pickle jars I’d saved!). I decided to paint a few of them, since I wanted to use them in the front room and frankly pickle jars aren’t as “in” as mason jars…. I had to get a little creative.

So there are some of my projects lately…feels good to be blogging.

hugs, hanalei

3 thoughts on “projects lately…

  1. Hanalei,

    Love the pickle jar idea! LOVE IT! I have a collection of old vases that need re-vamping. Did you use spray paint or some other type of paint?

Be brave. Expose your readership.

